What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

a- Sun Ra’s film Space is the Place, his Arkestra and artistic philosophy are so optimistic and visionary it drives me crazy.

b- L’Après-midi d’un Faune, the poem by Stéphane Mallarmé, prelude by Claude Debussy and ballet by Vaslav Nijinsky. I revisit the ballet all the time because I think, for a lot of reasons, it’s the best dance work ever choreographed.

c- The design work of Leigh Bowery, and imagined collaborations between him and Jean-Paul Goude.

d- Tere O’Connor‘s choreography, which I love for its ability to reinvent the modes and reasons for dance by looking at its history

e- Vladimir Nabokov‘s literary work. Would recommend to anybody who can read and has a soul.

Geoffrey Watson

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

1. BOOK: ‘The Baghavad Gita’ (translated by Eknath Easwaran from the words of Sage Vyasa), I have read this once so far. There are many other translations that I hope to read to further understand/revisit the philosophy. Alongside The Baghavad Gita I have been reading B.K.S Iyengar’s ‘The Yoga Sutras of Pantanjali, another current favourite.

2. FILM: ‘La Planète Sauvage’ / ‘Fantastic Planet’ (1973)

3. FILM: ‘Space is the Place’ (1972)

4. BOOK: ‘Kafka on the Shore’ (2002) – Haruki Murakami // read once, I’m moving through Murakami’s books one at a time for the first time.

5. SONG: always changing… at the moment I’m having fun with ‘King Kunta’ (2015) – Kendrick Lamar

Lilian Steiner

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

In no particular order…

WATCHING:

    1. Il deserto rosso (Red Desert), Michelangelo Antonioni, 1964
    1. Wake in Fright, Ted Kotcheff, 1971
    1. Picnic at Hanging Rock, Peter Weir, 1975 (and I am also currently partway through the book by Joan Lindsay)

LISTENING:

  1. Machinefabriek, Vergezichten

READING:

  1. The Road to Botany Bay, Paul Carter

Oh and my favourite TV show of all time would have to be Twin Peaks!

Claire Robertson

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

    1. I Love Dick, Chris Kraus
    2. Tank Girl (dir. Rachel Talalay) I Am Love (Dir. Luca Guadagnino) A Woman Under The Influence (Dir. John Cassavetes)
    1. Lily Tomlin’s one woman show – The Search For Signs of an Intelligent Life in the Universe, written by Jane Wagner
    2. Laurie Anderson’s sound piece and video, O Superman (this is a pretty obvious choice. I mean who doesn’t love Laurie Anderson? I had just had to include her because this clip changed me and changed my understanding of what performance could be.)
  1. Australian skit show – Full Frontal – 1989 – 1992

I have been revisiting I Love Dick more recently and feeling inspired to write erotically to or about lovers.

Nat Randall

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

  1. Songs: Ohia – Magnolia Electric Co. (Album). I always return to Songs: Ohia whenever sadness overwhelms me. This album repeats more than the others – although Ghost Tropics is also a very close second.
  2. Labyrinths, Jorge Luis Borges. Book of his short stories which I have often returned to over the years.
  3. The Ignorant School Master, Jacques Rancière. I have only read once, but returns constantly in thought and conversation. It was a book which I highly recommend, as it talks to equality not as an end to be achieved, but as a foundation which simply need to be enacted.
  4. What is Property? Pierre-Joseph Proudhon
  5. “A Non-Euclidean View of California as a Cold Place to Be”, Ursula K. Le Guin

I feel it is important to note that this list is not hierarchical to me nor does it represent the totality of my “favourites”, a term I find problematic.

Benjamin Forster

What are your top five favourite books/movies/songs etc? Mix artforms if you like. Do you revisit them often?

  1. The City in History by Lewis Mumford. I got it in my first year of uni when I was studying the History of Urban Planning with Mario Gutjahr. It’s my comfort book. I don’t read it that often, but I always have it close by.
  2. Destruction of the Father Reconstruction of the Father: Writings and Interviews, 1923-1997, by Louise Bourgeois. I lent it to a friend and haven’t seen it in a while, but I remember it being a great support in the early days of becoming a mother.
  3. Intangible Asset No 82, for some gentle inspiration.
  4. Mona Hatoum, by Michael Archer, Guy Brett and Catherine de Zegher. What a hero.
  5. The Subversive Stitch, by Rozsika Parker. I think about the words in the foreword often “To know the history of embroidery is to know the history of women”.
Eva Heiky Olga Abbinga